Back to the city lights..

She threw her arms in the air and shouted ‘I’m baaaaaack’…

I’m back in London. Well, truthfully I’ve been back in London for about a month. After a lovely holiday, a visit to my hometown in Ireland and a crash on the M4 (everyone was fine!), I’ve successfully made it back to the city. Since being back, it’s been a very busy few weeks. Third year feels like another step up from last year. So, please do excuse this post for being so late.

I had already been preparing myself through the summer for this year to be… mental. Last year, we were fortunate enough to know our third year class very well. They were ace. They helped us out so much and also prepped us for what was to come. I was truly happy to see that they all graduated with incredible grades. Now it’s our turn…

I am dreading my dissertation. Who doesn’t? I think the dread and worry is due to wanting to produce a piece of work that I am proud of. I also know that this topic needs to be done justice but I am glad I have chosen something I am thoroughly intrigued by. My topic is a current issue in the PR industry that I am not only passionate about but want to be a part of effectively changing. My dissertation is based on qualitative research and I’ve had such a lovely response from the PR Practitioners that I have asked to interview (all have said yes, woo!). Which only adds to my previous experience of PR industry professionals, the majority are always happy to help, so do not be afraid to ask.

I’ve also got to find myself a job this year. It’s hit home this month that in a blink of an eye I will be graduating. I plan to apply for a number of graduate schemes and jobs in the coming months. I’ve started to think what makes me as an applicant unique. What will make my application (hopefully!) stand out from the thousands I will be competing against, because ultimately, there will be thousands of young PR graduates looking for a first job in 2017. My ideal scenario… to be accepted onto a scheme or get a job in a top agency. Looking for my first job in a top agency is a high goal, I know but I feel anything is achievable if you work your ass off. That is what I’ll be doing this year.

So, if you don’t hear from me for a while, that’s where I’ll be, thoroughly working my ass off.

 

 

Leave a Reply

